top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Frugal, Space Saving Hobbies


Enjoy this post about frugal, space saving hobbies from my amazing staff writer, Jordann. As many of you may know, I’ve spent the last two years paying off over $38,000 in debt. In order to do that, I saved money on rent by moving into a 400 sq. ft. house and becoming a minimalist.

Now that I’m living the minimalist life, I’ve had to find ways to keep my possessions in check. I do this mainly by learning to live with less.

I have fewer clothes, a smaller number of cooking utensils, and less furniture. I pair down, declutter, and eliminate unnecessary possessions on a daily basis. No area of my life has been left untouched – including my hobbies.

I’ve had to give up a few of my more space intensive hobbies, in favour of activities that don’t take up so much precious square footage in my tiny home. I’ve been pleasantly surprised to see that I’m also saving a bit of cash by indulging in hobbies that take up a little less space.

Here’s some of them:

Photography

I love taking photos. I love capturing special moments and family events. Fortunately for me, photography doesn’t cost much. I use an eight year old DSLR that was given to me after my parents had upgraded their model, and some photo editing software that a friend had lying around.

Sure I’d love to invest a little more money and space into it – I could upgrade my camera, try out some new lenses, and maybe even get a tripod, but for now, my second-hand equipment suits me just fine, and doesn’t take up much space.


Blogging

Blogging definitely doesn’t take up much space in my little house. All you need to start a blog is a half decently functioning computer, and a half decently functioning brain.

Fortunately I have access to both of those things, and blogging has been on my top three list of hobbies for the past few years. Blogging even helps earn a little income, which is always nice.

Reading

Old fashioned paper backs to take up a ton of space, but throw an eReader into the mix, and you’ve got the perfect minimalist, frugal hobby. I’m an avid reader, but I hate how much space books take up in my home. Fortunately for me, pretty much every book that’s been written is available on my tablet, and bonus: They’re cheaper than buying the paperback version. I still love to browse book stores for ideas, but I’ll probably never buy a physical book again.

There are ton of hobbies out there that take up a lots of space and money. Think restoring classic cars, having a boat, or scuba diving. All of these hobbies eat up space and money like crazy, and are they really more fun than my frugal, space-saving hobbies?

While I’d really like to have some more expensive hobbies, I have a hard time thinking that they might be more fun than curling up with a good book. Fortunately for me, I don’t have to make the distinction, because those hobbies really aren’t in the cards for me, in my present financial condition.

Do you have any favourite frugal and space-saving hobbies? I want to know!

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page