top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Spending, Life, Income and Food Updates… 3/19/2012



Hope everyone had a great weekend! I feel like I didn’t do too much, I definitely slept a lot and spent a lot of time in my pajamas.

Our vacation starts this weekend! I’m very excited. We’ve officially decided on Kauai. It says it’ll rain, but everyone keeps telling me that the rain isn’t that bad because it doesn’t last too long. So I’ll be fine with that. Does anyone recommend anything specifically that we should do while we’re there?

We plan on hiking a couple of days (pray for me because I might die from my laziness), kayaking, snorkeling and relaxing.

We’ve only rented a car on one of our vacations so far, but does anyone have any rental car savings tips? We’re under 25, so we automatically have to pay the underage fees, but I’ve gotten rental car places to waive that in the past. We’ll be renting a car for 5 days and it’s definitely expensive with all of the fees added in and we want to save money. We’re thinking about maybe just renting a car for a couple of days and not the whole time since we most likely won’t need it everyday. And of course the BF wants to rent a jeep but that is super expensive.

I know I mentioned in the past that my sister would be staying at our house, but it turns out that she won’t be. She’s too busy to take care of both dogs by herself next week, so we will be dropping off one dog with her at her house (her work is literally 1 mile from her house so she can stop there often), and our other dog is going to the BF’s mom’s house.

I hate leaving my house for a whole week with no one there. I’m also terrified of someone breaking in. Any tips on this? We’ll leave lights on but not sure what else. We’ve never gone on a vacation this long with no one staying at our house.

My last update can be found here.

My updates:

Getting rid of my work outfit laziness: Wow I’m doing horrible with this. And I’m not going to lie, I’ve probably been a little lazy with my clothes at work. Nothing horrible, just a lot of boring outfits.

School: Only 7 more weeks until the semester is over. I have one last mid-term this week, and it shouldn’t be too bad. This semester has definitely gone by quick. We’ll be spending probably 2 full traveling days at the airport (on the way there and back) because of layovers and just how long the trip is, so my plan (which will make me sound extremely boring) is to bring homework and class reading with me on the trip so that I’m not just sitting there waiting for my flight. Hopefully I’ll get a lot done this way because I have a test the day after we get back and I won’t have any other time to study.

Extra Monthly Income: I’ve been doing good in this section. I’ve hardly done any secret shops because I haven’t had time and I’ve done no surveys because I have had no time. I did make another $110 this week in blog advertising though. I do have around 5 or 6 phone secret shops lined up for this week which will be around $30, not a ton of money but it literally takes 2 minutes to complete.

Budget Cutting: I don’t think we cut anything out, but we also didn’t add anything this week.

Spending: I need to finish going through my closet this week. I’d like to get rid of a lot more and sell it all before our trip for some extra spending money while we’re there. I would like to make an additional $100 from selling clothes. My closet is still a huge mess!

We had to stock up on new household items yesterday. Spent around $110 at Target yesterday, but we did not sway from our list AT ALL. I would definitely say that’s a great improvement and accomplishment since we were at Target. We had to get toilet paper, a furnace air filter, a fan, toothpaste, etc. It all adds up very quickly!

Food: We’ve been doing GREAT with our food budget. We only ate out once this whole past week and that was at my absolute favorite Mexican restaurant which also just happens to be at the end of our block. I can’t remember exactly how much we spent this week, but it was minimal. I don’t really plan on doing much shopping this week either since we will be on vacation all of next week.

How’s your spending and food budget been going?

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page