top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Should You Spend Money On Experiences or Things?


Hello everyone and happy Friday! Today, I have a short post, but it’s a topic that has come up several times in my life over the past few months. It’s another one of my “question” posts where I really just want to hear from you and see what your opinion is. Enjoy!

Have you ever heard someone say “I wish I would have bought those $500 pair of jeans 35 years ago!

Or “I wish I would have bought those shoes 15 years ago?

Or how about even “I hope I buy ____ before I die.

Most likely not. All of those examples sounded absolutely ridiculous, right?

You can probably easily see what I think about this topic – I’m all about spending money on experiences!

However, I do understand that everyone is different and some prefer to spend money on things over experiences. Others prefer to spend money on experiences and spend hardly any money on the “things” in their life.

Below are different things you may want to think about when debating whether or not experiences or things are better for you.

The case for things.

There are many times in your life when buying a “thing” might be worthwhile. This includes paying for a place to live, food, and so on.

However, what I’m talking about here is going above and beyond basic necessities and things that you can afford. This includes items you do not need, but you buy anyways, either to engage in emotional spending or for some other reason.

I understand why some prefer to spend money on things. You can touch what you buy, you have something to physically show for your money, and so on.

However, is it actually worth it?

The case for experiences.

For me, I enjoy spending my money on experiences. Yes, I bought an RV (which is a “thing”), but it will lead to many great experiences and memories. There are other experiences you may pay for as well, such as a hot air balloon ride, a party, skydiving, and more.

There are many reasons for why a person might want to spend money on experiences.

  1. Experiences can lead to great memories. You most likely won’t remember any “thing” you bought decades earlier, but you will most likely remember great times with friends and family.

  2. You never know what may happen to your “things.” You could lose them in an accident such as a fire or water damage.

  3. You may no longer like the things even just a little bit after.

  4. Things can be trendy. Why buy something that will go out of style in a month or two?

Do you prefer to spend money on experiences or things? Share below!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page