top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Living In An RV Full-Time – Should We Do It?


A few months ago,

we bought an RV. We’ve been living in an RV full-time, except for around five days total when we’ve gone home to restock or to get warranty work done.

Other than those days, we have been full-time RV living, traveling, and having a great time. We’ve gone to many national parks, visited friends and family, and have had a great time being location independent.

We really love RV life, which has led us to wonder whether or not we should just take the leap and do this full-time for real.

We are leaning more towards doing this full-time than not. As you will read below, the reasons we have for not doing it are insignificant – they are mainly just things we can easily find solutions for. Nothing is a big deal at all!

I guess the main thing holding us back is that we’ve never done anything like this before and it seems like such a scary thing to get rid of a “normal” home and live on the road.

Below are some of the various things we have been thinking about when it comes to whether or not we should try living in an RV full-time.

Our RV isn’t that big for full-time RV living.

We had no idea in July (when we bought our RV) that we would be thinking about living in an RV full-time. However, we are so in love with it that full-time RV living sounds like a reasonable next step for us.

Our RV is only 24 feet long, though. We have had no problem with the small amount of space yet, but I’m not sure how a whole year or longer would be in it, especially since we have two dogs.

Something we could do when we are feeling a little cramped is to get Airbnbs, which I think could really help. So, that’s one easy solution!

We would save money by living in an RV full-time.

Overall, full-time RV living would save us money because right now we are paying for our house in Colorado yet we are hardly ever there. We could save money by not having to pay our monthly rent, utility bills, and so on.

We expect that we will spend most of 2016 in our RV as well, so it would most likely be a huge waste of money if we had a house on the side.

If we decide not to have a house, we will have to look into what to do about not having an actual address and also choosing what state we will be “located in” for tax purposes.

Related article: How To Live On One Income

BUT we have a lot of stuff.

While I am all about downsizing and having a minimalist life, we do still have a lot of stuff.

My stuff won’t prevent me from living in an RV full-time, but I do need to think about where we are going to store everything.

I have over 100 large photo albums that my dad left me after he passed away (I’ll never get rid of those), furniture, and more. These are all things I don’t want to get rid of especially due to the fact that we will most likely buy another house in 2017.

We also have a car. Our RV can’t tow our car, so we would most likely need to do something with it. If we decide to be in the RV full-time then we may just decide to sell it.

Full-time RV living will be a memorable experience.

Living in an RV full-time will be the experience of a lifetime. We will be able to travel all across North America in our RV and that is something we are very excited to do.

We both love traveling and seeing new things. Being in an RV and doing that will be a crazy experience and one that we will never forget.

Mail will be tough when living in an RV full-time.

I run my business from our RV and that means I occasionally get checks and other important documents in the mail.

I know there are RV mail services where everything can be scanned and emailed to me, however, I will have to do something so that I can cash the checks I occasionally receive. Some companies only pay by check, so cashing them is something we will have to think about.

I can still keep up with my business while living in an RV full-time.

One thing I have learned ever since being on the road in the RV is that my income and business have not been negatively impacted by it. In the beginning, I was a little nervous about what would happen. However, I now know that everything is going to be just fine.

I actually believe that full-time RVing (well almost full-time!) has helped me. Being able to work on the road and travel at the same time is really amazing.

Also, I’ve had a lot of you ask what I’m using for internet. I am using a Verizon MiFi Jetpack.

Should we try full-time RV living? Would you try living in an RV full-time?

0 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page