top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Improving your Alexa Rank and Weekly Roundup

Hey everyone! It’s finally the weekend and I’m excited.

I finally decided on a costume. I’m going to test my craft skills and try to make this Pocahontas costume. I bought a plain brown shirt and already have fringe boots, blue necklace and a braided headband, so I am pretty set! Cheap costume and it’s exactly what I wanted to be anyways.

We plan on going on a haunted hayride pub crawl tonight. Sounds like fun right? Yeah, if only it weren’t only 35 degrees tonight 🙁

Then tomorrow we are going to a pumpkin patch with the boy’s family. It’ll be fun, I surprisingly haven’t been to one since I was really young.

Alexa Rank

Earlier this month I made a post on increasing your Google Page Rank. Now I would like to help you all decrease your Alexa! A lot of you have been e-mailing me about how to decrease your Alexa.

If you check my Alexa, I am currently at around 80,000. It has been dropping quickly ever since I switched to WordPress.

So what is Alexa? The lower your score, the better your website ranks. Facebook has a ranking of 1 and Google is a 2 if that gives you a better perspective. Blogs below the 200,000 mark are said to be in the top 1% of all websites/blogs/etc. out there.

Why does your Alexa ranking matter though? 200,000 and below is said to be when advertisers will start flocking to you. I definitely believe this is true because once I dropped below that, I received numerous requests.

1. Install the Alexa Toolbar.

Your Alexa score is mainly determined by how many people view your blog that already have the toolbar, so install it! Then having your regular readers install it as well will help also. It is said that you need to click around to more than one page when you do visit a website as well.

2. Increased traffic to your site/blog.

The more traffic that you have, then generally the lower your ranking. Creating good quality content which engages and entertains your readers is key here. You want people to keep coming back.

3. Increased specialized traffic.

Another way to have a lower ranking is to have a lot of traffic from people who have the Alexa Toolbar installed. If you have a lot of readers, but hardly anyone has the toolbar, then you will most likely have a very high ranking.

It goes without saying that to lower your Alexa traffic rank you would need more web traffic, but as the above references show, what you actually need is specialized traffic – traffic from visitors who have Alexa Toolbar installed.

Posts that I love:

  1. Is It Possible to Reduce Your Monthly Grocery Bill with Coupons? @ Tackling Our Debt

  2. Are High School Reunions Worth the Cost? @ My Money Design

  3. Would You Be A Human Guinea Pig For Money? @ Call Me What You Want Even Cheap

  4. Why We Have Separate Finances (Sort of) @ Edward Antrobus

  5. Things I Couldn’t Do If I Had A Car Payment @ IHeartBudgets

  6. What to do about a black mark on a credit report @ Frugal Portland


Have a great weekend!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page