top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

I want LASIK


Lately, whenever I get on Facebook, it seems like yet another person has gotten LASIK. Some people that I know have already gotten LASIK and I didn’t even know until I would say “Wow you’re lucky for not having to wear contacts OR eyeglasses!” Then of course they would tell me that they have gotten LASIK and love it.

I’ve also never met a person who has said that they regretted getting it. The downtime seems very minimal and it sounds like a great way to spend a little money upfront in order to save money for pretty much the rest of your life.

It also sounds like a great way to save time, because who honestly likes to go to the eye doctor once every single year? Those are hours that I’m spending where I could be doing something else instead.

My eyesight is not good at all. I can’t see in front of me without my contact or glasses, and even walking to the bathroom after I get out of bed is near impossible!

However, my eyesight hasn’t always been bad. I actually had 20/20 vision until I was in 8th grade. And then all of a sudden in eighth grade my eyesight started to get really bad and it has been bad ever since.


My eyes are expensive!

In a couple of months, I will need both glasses and new contacts. I haven’t gotten new glasses in a quite some time (probably over 5 years), and I only have a couple months were of boxes of contacts left.

I do have health insurance paid for by my work currently, but the vision part of my insurance is not very good at all. I think it only takes $25 off, which is ridiculous. So, it’s not an actual vision plan.

I think an eye exam for contacts is around $50, and then if you bundle it with an eye glasses exam it is an extra $50 as well. Then a new pair of glasses with lenses are a couple hundred dollars as well. Then of course contacts are also super expensive. Lately, I have been able to find them online for around $100 for a full years worth of contacts, but usually they are much more expensive.

So, if I’m spending somewhere around $300 a year on contacts, eye exams, and the occasional glasses every couple of years, the costs of this over a 10 year period well exceeds the cost of LASIK.

LASIK MD lists their starting prices online and it says pricing starts at $490 per eye. You can find a LASIK MD clinic easily, so what am I waiting for?

Did you get LASIK? Why or why not?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page