top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

How long should your items last?

I’m not sure if all of this is correct (because I haven’t had my house for as long as some of the items on this list), but here’s an article from Kiplingers. If you have any insight on any of this, share please!

  1. Washing machine. 12 years.”You can extend the life by cleaning it once a month, emptying your dryer’s lint screen after each use, and avoiding covering the dryer’s outside exhaust.” We clean our lint screen after each use, but I don’t think we’ve ever actually cleaned the washer or dryer.

  2. Standard incandescent light bulb. 1,000 hours.

  3. Furnace. 20 years. Our furnace is at 16 years and I’m starting to get really nervous. Our friend had to replace her furnace and her air conditioning system this summer and it cost her $6,000!

  4. Mattress. Around 5 to 7 years. I have definitely kept a mattress longer than this though. “Rotating and flipping your mattress every six months is another great way to get the most out of it.”

  5. Dishwasher. 13 years.

  6. Water heater. 10 years. Ours is at 12 years, so I’m hoping it doesn’t fail either. However, my mom bought a brand new house around 3 years ago, and the water heater already had to be replaced last year.

Do your items last this long? How long do you think they should last?

0 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page