top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Do You Make Excuses For Why You’re Not Following Your Dream?


We’ve all heard them – excuses.

Many people will make various excuses for why they cannot and why they will not be able to reach their dream. With 2014 very close, you are probably thinking about what you want to accomplish in 2014 and what your goals are for the future.

In October, I definitely reached my dream. Full-time freelancing was achieved in October of 2013 for me, and I feel in control of my life by having my own business and being able to do what I want to do.

When I do tell people about what I do, I often get a lot of “You are lucky,” “I never will be able to do what I want,” “That’s not possible” and so on.

That always makes me sad to hear. If you want something, then you most likely will have to work hard at it. A goal wouldn’t be a goal if it only took one second to achieve.

Here are some excuses as well as an action plan to make your dream more attainable.


I don’t have the skills.

I have heard many people say that they can’t work on their goals because they don’t have the skills. Maybe you need background knowledge, a degree, a certification, experience or something else. They use this as a reason for why they cannot go further.

Action plan: Work on the skills that you need! If you don’t have the skills, then get them. Go to school if you need to, apply for an entry-level position so that you can get your foot in the door, start with a volunteer position and so on.

I don’t have enough money.

Not having money can be a good excuse for why you have not started following your dream, but you should be working to overcome that. If you are spending money on things that you do not absolutely need and are using that as a reason for why you cannot go for your goal, then obviously something needs to change there.

You CAN save money!

Action plan: Make money on the side if you can’t make any more money during the day. There are many different ways for you to earn extra income.

If your goal is to eventually leave your day job to start your own business but you are afraid that you will never save enough money, you should still aim for smaller money goals to keep you motivated.

What if I fail?

Many people are afraid of failure. I think being at least a little afraid is only normal. Going for your dream may mean that you will have to make significant life changes, and of course that is scary.

Action plan: Try to think of ways to make you more “comfortable” with failure. Maybe create a backup plan just in case things don’t go as planned, increase your emergency fund so that you can still pay your bills if something were to happen with your income, and so on.

It’s too late for me to change.

You might think that you are too old, that you can’t do things because you are tied down (such as owning a home), because you have to be safe for your children and so on. However, none of those things will usually mean that it is too late for you to attempt your goals.

Action plan: Certain things may hold you back, but you probably just need a more realistic plan. Create a schedule of where you would like to be each month and strive for something better.

I have no time.

In some cases, you might actually not have any time. However, I’m going to guess that you have at least SOME! Even if it’s just an extra hour each day to work towards your goals, that still counts.

Action plan: Make time! If your dream/goal truly matters to you, you will find a way. I’m sure that there is some TV or something else that you can probably cut out.

What excuses have you caught yourself making? What are your goals for 2014?

0 views0 comments

תגובות


bottom of page