top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Common Myths About Working From Home


I’ve been working from home for a few months now, and because of that I have heard several myths about what it’s like to work from home.

Whether you work for yourself and your office is in your home, or if you telecommute and work for someone else, I’m sure you’ve heard some of the myths below as well.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE working from home, and I wouldn’t change a thing. However, some people have said certain things to me that really make me laugh. Working from home is still work.

I understand that not everyone works from home (although, I did read a statistic in an article the other day that said 30% of workers actually work from home) and the thought itself can seem unattainable, but it is possible for you if you want it. Also, I’m not mad at anyone for anything that is said to me, because I know that I used to think some of the same things.

Here are common myths about working from home.


You’ll have time to work out all the time.

This is something I thought would be true for myself. I thought that I would especially have time since we have a full gym in our basement. Yes, I have been doing better when it comes to working out, but it took a long time for me to get to this point – and I’m still not perfect.

I don’t like to work out until I get the majority of my work done for the day, and I think that’s my problem. I use work as my excuse. There will always be work, and I just need to have a set schedule for when I workout so that I can stop making excuses.

Aren’t all work from home jobs scams?

When I tell people what I do, they usually don’t believe it. Many people think that most home businesses are scams. I can see why some people would think this, considering I see so many home scams all the time.

Not all work at home jobs are scams. I have a legitimate business! Just like anyone else who has a business, mine is a business as well.

It’s easy to just stop working.

When you have your own business, it can be very difficult to completely stop working. Whenever we go on a trip, I almost always continue working the same amount that I do when I am at home. When you are a business owner, I feel that (especially in the beginning) you want to bust your butt off to make your business successful. It can be hard to separate work and life.

You’re not actually working.

For some reason, many people associate working from home with not doing any work at all. Boy, are they wrong! I have even had people not believe me and then ask for a full schedule of what I do each day to prove myself.

I’ve had several people ask me what I do all day long. Umm hello, I WORK! And, I’m working harder than ever before.

You will spend all of your time on social media.

This is something that I thought would happen to me. However, I’ve noticed that I’m on websites like Twitter and Facebook much less than when I had my day job. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m probably still on it too much!

You won’t have a social life.

I’m often asked if I get lonely working from home. Considering before I switched to self-employment I worked independently in an office and hardly ever had human contact, I can honestly say that the answer is no. I talk to people all day long, it’s just not face to face.

You will spend all of your time in pajamas.

This one is TRUE, especially for me. Ah, I wear pajamas so much that I call myself disgusting all the time. Don’t worry, I still do my hair and makeup every day. Now, yoga pants are just a part of my daily outfit.

What myths have you heard? Anyone else experience the same thing?

0 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page