top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Choosing a New Credit Card

This post is just going to be a bunch of random credit card questions which have been floating around in my head. Answer away!

I hate to admit it, but for years I did NOT have a rewards credit card. Late last year, I signed up for the Chase Freedom, and it’s been great, but I feel like I can do something better now.

Finally having rewards from my credit card is nice, but it pains me to think about especially since I made the post about how I’ve spent over $25,000 in credit cards (but no worries because I have never carried a balance). This could have amounted to a ton of rewards! But I was too dumb before and never really thought about it, because everything seemed like it would take forever to add up.

I’m also wondering what’s the most awesome credit card reward you’ve gotten?

Yes I do realize that with some people, credit cards are not the best decision, but I’m good with credit cards. I just charge all my expenses that I can onto it (without going over the 30% recommended utilization percentage) and I pay my balances off completely every month. So no worries there!

  1. I wanted to point that out because when I made my $25,000 credit card post, I got some e-mails where people were telling me that I’m horrible for racking up so much debt (but I never racked it up so I’m confused as to what the e-mails were talking about).

  2. But I just want to make it clearer this time 🙂


Oh yeah, and I have 2 credit cards and the boyfriend has 1. And I don’t care about the interest rate or anything because I’ll never carry a balance. My credit score is a little under 800, so I should be able to qualify for most cards. You can compare credit cards at Totally Money.

How many credit cards do you have? What do you consider a “good” number? The boyfriend and I are both thinking of adding one card each, so that will bring my number to 3, and his to 2. Not sure if this would be considered too many?

Also, I would like to get rid of my first credit card that I received when I turned 18. It gets no rewards and has a small credit limit. It’s pretty much useless. There is no yearly fee either. I know closing this will affect my credit, but not sure by how much. We’re not applying for a new loan for anything anytime soon, so this impact on my credit doesn’t worry me too much.

Now I don’t want something with an annual fee, but if I could get the fee waived then I would be all for it.

Below are some of the cards that I’m thinking of:

  1. Chase Sapphire. I keep hearing everyone talk about this one. There is a fee but it’s waived for the first year.

  2. Perkstreet Financial. 2% back. This is better than the 1% with the Chase Freedom that I have right now.

  3. And I’m not sure what else. Obviously my list is short. I don’t know of many credit cards.


What credit card do you think is good? I’m open for any recommendations!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Holidays in Barbados

Magnificent golf courses, sunny days all year round and water sports of all types can be enjoyed in Barbados anytime of the year. To top...

Cashwindow for your business

Most people in business will do everything possible to expand their businesses, increase their income and also improve their overall...

Comments


bottom of page