top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

Analyzing My Job and What matters to you?

Happy Tuesday everyone! Hopefully this week isn’t going too slow for you. I don’t have too much planned today except for the normal work and then boring classes.

I thought I’d join in with the others who have participated in From Shopping to Saving’s How to Analyze Your Job. It’s a very good way to look at your job and how you perceive it. Below I marked in red what I thought was important to me. I also thought this post would be interesting because I’ve noticed that a lot of readers and bloggers are currently looking for a new job. This might help steer you into the direction that you want to be in.

Here is a direct quote from her post:


“Here are the 7 factors that we like to take a look at to analyze our job as a whole. Work is not something that we all love to do but it’s something that pays for what we really want to do. Some of us are fortunate to have work that we do enjoy wholeheartedly and would possibly do for free, but sadly I’m not one of those people. “

My Job:

  1. Salary – What are all of the benefits of your job? This includes salary, insurance, pensions, etc.

  2. My salary is pretty good, especially for the Midwest. Of course it would be on more average if I lived in an area such as LA or NYC, but it’s pretty decent around here. I also get bonuses, a retirement plan, free health insurance and other benefits. I would say that I’m pretty good in this area.

  3. Job Duties – What do you do? Is it difficult?

  4. I enjoy what I do. Of course I would rather be laying on a beach and get paid for that, but I’m not a VS model, so that’s not possible. My job can be difficult at times but it’s something I enjoy doing and the time passes pretty quickly. I work mainly independently and I like that.

  5. Location/Commute – How is the drive? Is it really long? Horrible? Are there other ways you can commute?

  6. The location is good. It’s in a nice suburb and only less than 15 miles from my house. I cannot take public transportation there (unless I want to spend around 2.5 hours on a bus). I don’t pay for parking and it’s located near a bunch of other places to eat and things to do.

  7. Co-workers – Do you like the people you work with? How are your work relationships?

  8. I enjoy the people that I work with. I work at a pretty small firm, and we all get along. This is much different than a retail environment, where everyone is really catty.

  9. Atmosphere – How stressful is your job? How is your workplace?

  10. The atmosphere is pretty nice at my work. Not too crazy. Pretty quiet and relaxing also.I listed to Pandora all day at work so that’s pretty nice too.

  11. Flexibility – Can you take a day off easily? Or is your boss/employer one of those people who denies all vacation requests?

  12. I don’t have to clock in. It’s pretty easy to take off. I just have to put my name on the calendar. My boss pretty much lets me take off whenever unless it’s during a busy time of the work season.

  13. Advancement – Is it easy to get a promotion, or are you stuck?

  14. There is definitely a path for advancement in my position. I was hired and told I was on a path for management/VP/President. So they flat out told me this in the interview.

If you couldn’t tell, I like my job. My job is pretty stable and reliable. I work in a very specialized area in the financial services industry as well, and there will always be demand for what we do, so I’m not too worried about our services and business tanking.

How does your job compare?

A lot of people would say that money is the #1 motivator for when they look at a job. I would say that a combination of happiness, money, stability (especially stability), benefits and opportunity for advancement.

I know many people who work at a certain big billion dollar company in my city and they all hate their jobs. It all started out nice because the money was very attractive for them, but they are terrified everyday that they might lose their job and the environment is very hostile. Would you work in an environment where you would trade your sanity and happiness for money?

I don’t think I could. I am a person who likes stability and I enjoy not having to worry everyday about whether or not I will have a job the next day. I try my hardest at my job and of course I expect at least not to lose my dignity everyday as with the example in the above.

I also have some friends who I think are being entirely too picky. Some graduated awhile ago and are still waiting for the perfect job and still haven’t found anything. I believe you need to gain some sort of experience instead of just waiting around. Not many jobs are going to score a 100% for you. Yes yes I know, I’m probably a depressing person and I’m sure there are many people out there who love their jobs, but I’m just being realistic in my point of view.

Are you currently searching for a job? What are some things that you are looking for in a job? What’s one thing you would not trade?

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page