top of page
  • Writer's picturePuang Reviews

2014 Financial Year In Review


Hello everyone! I know it’s a little early for me to be analyzing 2014, but I think it’s close enough. 2015 is right around the corner and I want to have our 2015 financial goals thought about and an action plan created.

Overall 2014 was a great year. I don’t think it could have been any better. The only thing that was bad was the amount of spending we did…

How was our spending in 2014?

2014 was an expensive year for us. I’m hoping that nothing in the future resembles 2014, as we definitely busted our budget. Probably our worst spending year ever!

We had some medical/dental things come up this year, and along with the our somewhat high monthly health insurance premium, we spent around $7,500 on medical-related expenses in 2014.

OUCH!

Definitely our most expensive health year EVER. We usually don’t spend anything in this area, so this was somewhat of a shock to us. I’m hoping for a more affordable health year for 2015.


2014 Financial Year In Review - Spend All The Money Picture

Another big expense for 2014 was our wedding. I received some flack for it since we had a $22,000 wedding. Yup, a personal finance blogger had an expensive wedding. It was a great wedding though and I don’t regret it at all!

Lastly, we still need to work on our food spending. We still spend too much money at restaurants, too much on groceries, and we probably waste too much food as well.

P.S. Check out Holly’s post Our 2014 Spending: How Did We Do? to see how another personal finance blogger did this year. I think she did much better than me when it came to spending!

How did the business do in 2014?

This was a great year for my business. 2014 was my first full year of full-time self-employment, and I don’t think it could have been any better.

I’m bringing in a good income, I am managing a good work-life balance, and I have many plans for my business. You can find all of my income reports here if you are interested.

Our financial goals for 2015.

We have some big goals for 2015, and thinking about them kind of stresses me out.

The first goal is to sell our house. We want to put our home on the market in the spring time. We haven’t really done too much research or started fixing anything yet, but it’s something we need to start doing. We also need to contact a realtor. When’s the best time to do that? Is now too early?

The second goal is to find somewhere to rent. Sometime in the spring months, we also want to find a place to rent. We want to rent before we buy because we will be in a whole new area and want to make sure that we like wherever we will be moving to. We’ve looked at many places in Colorado and we can already tell that it’s going to be very hard to narrow down our list. This is a good problem to have though so I am not complaining 🙂

The third goal is to save money for a down payment for our next house. I’m still not exactly sure what our home budget will be or how much of a down payment we will need, so my main goal is to just save as much money as we can. I know that we will have to put down a large down payment since we are self-employed, and I know this number will most likely be extremely huge (for us).

How was 2014 for you overall? What are your financial goals for 2015?

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page